Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
A to Z World Travel – A to Z World Travel consists of 202 World City Travel Guides of 52 topics each and 56 World Travel Resources.
Auto Repair Reference Center covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ. Video Tutorial [4:30 minutes]
BC Laws – Free public access to the Statutes & Regulations of B.C.
British Columbia Codes (in Library Use Only) – Includes the current BC Building Code (including Plumbing Services) and the BC Fire Code.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Canadian Newsstand [ProQuest] – Full-text access to over 200 Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, The Vancouver Sun and many local BC papers. Coverage back to the 1970s and1980s for some newspapers.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
EBSCOhost periodicals – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
Edmark Learning Software (LearnNowBC) – LearnNowBC is a single point of entry to distributed learning in British Columbia through the use of Edmark Learning Software.
Encyclopedia of British Columbia Online (In-Library use only) – BC people, places, arts, history, literature and more are covered in this special online encyclopedia. Includes articles, photographs, video and sound clips, web links, handy statistics, maps and diagrams.
Explora Canada – Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools – A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Genealogy – Ancestry Library Edition – Ancestry Library Edition is a new genealogy research tool that provides library patrons instant access to a wide range of resources for genealogical and historical research.
Ancestry Library Edition is not for home use. To access this database, please ask for more information at your local library.
Global Road Warrior – The ultimate guide to the world for travelers.
InstantFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
L ‘Encyclopédie Découverte – French language encyclopedia from World Book for younger users who are fluent in French. Also useful for older students and adults for whom French is a second language. This resource is paid for by the Provincial Government.
Library To Go – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
OneClickDigital: Audiobook Downloads
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.
World Book Encyclopedia – All of these products are available for your use:
- World Book Online Info Finder. Video Tutorial [22:04 minutes]
- World Book Online Reference Center. Video Tutorial [15:52 minutes]
- World Book Online For Kids. Video Tutorial [13:43 minutes]
- L ‘Encyclopédie Découverte. Video Tutorial [4:45 minutes]
World Book Advanced – Includes over a million primary source documents integrated with the encyclopedia’s content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, a citation builder and the ability to save searches.
World Book Kids – Younger children will enjoy searching for information by keyword or topic. A special feature includes fun hands-on learning activities for elementary school age children. Categories include: Make It! activities (e.g. making recycled paper), Think It! activities (e.g. puzzles) and Be It! activities (e.g. pretend to be a geologist).
World Book Online Reference Centre / Student – This is a great place for students or anyone to start their research on almost any topic. Includes full-text articles, web links, videos, animation, and sound.
Zinio – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.